Celebrating 18 years in business, Thank you Danvers!

18 years This photo of Sifu & I was taken in front of our original location on 36 Maple Street 18 years ago on June 5th 1995. It doesn’t matter how much time has passed or how much we have accomplished, this picture serves as a reminder of our humble beginnings.

In the photo I had just past my 1st degree Black Belt test but was on a probation called “Cho Dan.” I was literally clueless & had no idea how run a martial arts studio or how to teach classes. I was still a student.

Life is funny because I had gone to school for fashion design & had my heart set on doing just that. But this became my destiny. I sort of tripped on it. In 1990 I was diagnosed with PTSD and the Doctor recommended I do something to relieve stress. When I joined martial arts I was so timid I couldn’t raise my hand in class or stand in the front row. I met my husband Sifu Anthony there and 4 years later we were married and we owned a Martial Arts studio. Now it is 18 years later I run the academy and we teach classes together.

“Who you are and who you can become from this type of training will amaze you.”

As time has past I am now so grateful for the challenges we have both overcome – the first location/studio flooding in 1999 and leaving us without a location for almost 6 months to knee and back injuries that could have ended both our careers, then a family members illness that forced me to be absent from the academy for over 6 months. We are no different from anyone – we face challenges and try to rise above them. They can make you become stronger. I feel I became a better teacher because of this. Hundreds of children have passed through our doorway over the years & although we’ve never had our own children they still feel like they are ours. My father-in-law has often said to me “have you ever seen the movie Mr. Chips?” Yes it does feel a bit like that.

So as our anniversary approaches next week I just want to say Thank you to everyone that has trained at our Martial Arts studio, thank you for your support and trust. Realize that you are a part of our schools legacy.

Looking forward to many more years of teaching and training in the Martial Arts.

Sincerely,

Sifu Anthony & Sifu Rita Rose Pasquale

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 457 other followers